Exercise because you love your body, not because you hate it.

I’ve recently started exercising again. Just little bits, one netball session a week and a few classes at the gym.

I used to exercise to the extreme, running up to 20 miles at a time, and I did it because I was striving for the perfect body. 

At this point I had already halved my body weight but I still wasn’t happy, I kept pushing myself further and further on a quest for some form of perfection that I couldn’t define. I always wanted more from myself and all I had to give wasn’t enough.

After falling ill and quitting exercise because, to be perfectly honest, I didn’t have the motivation to get out of bed let alone get sweaty, I have been through a lot of therapy and tried to deal with my issues and conquer my demons that tell me that enough is never good enough.

I feel like I am in a much better place now and I am wanting to exercise for the right reasons.

I want to be healthy, not skinny.

I want to work to increase my stamina and see my fitness levels rise.

The size of my clothes and the number on the scales is irrelevant, what matters is how I feel, not how I look.

Learn to love yourself as you are, no matter how you feel I promise you are worthy and you are more than good enough.

Exercise because you love your body, not because you hate it.

2 thoughts on “Exercise because you love your body, not because you hate it.

Leave a Reply

