Family 

I feel like I have two families.

My own family, related by blood and forever loving and supporting each other through all times, good and bad.

Then there is my fiance’s family. They stand by me through choice, they don’t have to, they aren’t duty bound to, they have no definite ties to me yet they love me like I am one of their own.

I love my family, both my mother and father try to be there for me and to support me when I need them but there were times as a child where I needed more than they gave me. I don’t blame them for this, they tried their best but there were things that I needed that I didn’t get, but I must remember that they aren’t just my parents, they are individuals in their own right with other things on their plate besides their children and so mistakes can be made and things can be overlooked.

I still love them though, and I always will.

Then there are his parents, they look out for me in a way I never expected them to. They provide me with support and care for me and love me like I am one of their own.

I rely on both families to provide me with a loving and safe environment in which I can focus on my recovery.

I am thankful that I have two families which love me.

My parents have never had mental health problems so when I became ill it was foreign to them. My fiance’s mum, however, has suffered herself with mental health problems as she is bipolar and therefore her husband understands what it is that my fiance is going through. Having people around that understand these things is such a significant help and I am so grateful that they were there during this time to understand what it is we have been going through.

Family is so important and it has a massive impact on your life depending on how understanding and supportive they are in times of trouble.

I wouldn’t change my family for the world but I also wouldn’t ever want to give up the bond I have with his family too.

It has taken both families to get me to where I am today.

Family isn’t all about blood, it is about a mutual love, respect and desire to care for those people and I am so happy to say that I now have one big family that is there to support me.

To all of you I love you and I thank you all for the support you have given me. Related or not I love you all.

Thank you for showing me that family means so much more.

Family 

Leave a Reply

