Going public about mental health

For the first time today I publicly admitted to all of my facebook friends that I have had a mental health problem.

I thought and rethought it so many times but in the end I felt I needed to do it.

I want to own this as it is a massive part of me and I have reliased that it doesn’t make me weak and I have nothing to be ashamed of.

I have just posted this message :

I feel so anxious right now waiting to see what the reaction is, my chest is tight and I feel like I can’t breathe properly but I know that at some point it was an admission I had to make and a message I had to get out there.

I hope my words help somebody at least and that I have not just opened myself up to be cut down.

Mental illness shouldn’t be a dirty phrase and no one should feel shame for suffering, take care of yourself, get the help you need and eventually things should improve but don’t underestimate the power of time.

I was seriously ill for a year and it felt like forever, I know some people suffer for much longer and the must think I am weak for saying a year was hell, but with the right help any problem can be solved, I promise.

Going public about mental health

Leave a Reply

